June 11

First week of work is over, now for the first weekend. Today marks a week I’ve been here, and it already feels like I’ve been here for a month. I’m sure after next week and the week after, my feeling of permanency will exponentially increase, as it always does. Noticias:

– Going to Duarte today to get some sneakers, then playing some Ultimate Frisbee tomorrow. There’s a tournament somewhere, and one of my building-mates knows a coach or something.

– Next week all of the interns are taking Friday off and going to Cabarete to surf for the weekend. On the North end of the island, It has a nightlife, off-shore reef, perfect conditions for surfing and kite-surfing, and….I don’t really need much more than that. We get 2 days a month off for vacation, so I’m excited to see where that takes me over the next six months. Also, the following week there’s a foundation-wide retreat that is taking us to Punta Cana for wicked cheap. Thursday and Friday are off, and we don’t have to use vacation days. Nice.

– Haven’t been able to catch either of the Finals series going on, but go ‘Los Mavs’ and….whatever I’ll roll with it….go B’s.

– It’s really hot here, and not conducive to sleeping. There’s a disconnected A/C unit in my room which they can connect if they charge more per month, but I’m going to stick it out and just adjust. The weather has improved, however. After raining every day until Wednesday, we’ve had 3 days without any serious showers.

Reading: Stranger in a Strange Land

Listening: Magic Potion, The Black Keys

Dominicanismo: Corn Flakes – Any kind of cereal

2 thoughts on “June 11

Say hey

